The Bells Of St. Mary’s – Remembering Christmas Of The 50s

The Bells Of St. Mary’s – Remembering Christmas Of The 50s

Bing Crosby Sings The Bells Of St. Mary’s

Please click onto any blue letter or number to see the video and text on the blog.

This post is a remake of one that I made last year. I trust that you will be blessed by memories that may “flood your soul.”

I have found myself enjoying this Christmas Eve evening by watching one of my favorite of all time movies and, I’ve got to talk to you about the movie, and the times of the movie. “The Bells Of St. Mary’s” has always found a place of warmth in my soul. As I see the downtown street scenes in the movie, my mind drifts back to the days of my childhood. My step-father was usually away from home working as a merchant seaman, so my mother would take my younger brother, sister and me “downtown” on shopping excursions. My mother was very good at shopping and provided many memorable Christmas mornings for my brother, sister and me. As with many downtown shopping areas in America “in the 50s,” we had streets in my home town that were lined with buildings where you could find stores such as Sears, Penny’s, Woolworth’s, McCrory’s, Kress’s and, “you know the rest of them.” The streets were nicely decorated with “Christmas” markings (not Happy Holidays yet!). The store personnel would always say, “Merry Christmas,” without the fear of being fired! My family didn’t have a car, so we would travel by city bus or cab. The drivers were very friendly and would also give “Christmas greetings” to us. I can remember the long kelly green coat that my mother wore. She always had a wide black belt around her coat and wore black high heels; she had given up wearing a hat and white gloves (sort of what Mayberry’s Aunt Bea would wear!). By the way, we didn’t have a television at home. So, now, you know all about my family.

Movies, such as “The Bells Of St. Mary’s,” and other Bing Crosby movies, tell stories of “niceness” of the human spirit. As for this particular Bing Crosby movie, it has found a special place of warmth in my soul, as have many other of his movies, such as “Going My Way.” A person doesn’t have to be Catholic to appreciate this movie, or any of the other similar Crosby movies. I trust that you will enjoy this movie, and that you will also have a very merry Christmas. Now, let’s watch the full-length movie of “The Bells Of St. Mary’s.” You may be drawn back in your mind to the 50s, or maybe even the 40s or 30s.

The Bells Of St. Mary’s

Comments related to this post.

This post is one of many others that you can find in this blog that deal with Christmas. All posts in this series can be found under the category of Christmas. Please follow this blog so that you can receive updates automatically.

If you want to make a comment, please place that comment on this blog in the appropriate space at the bottom of this page. If you do not want your comment to be shown, please let me know. I moderate all comments, and will not violate anybody’s trust.

Leave a Reply

