Christmas In The 50s

Please click onto the links to see the post and videos on the blog. Please follow this blog. https://cchurchchurchblog.wordpress.com/

This post is a remake of the one that I made last year. I trust that you will be blessed by memories that may “flood your soul.”

Please forgive me for “posting a post,” especially after I “posted” that I would not “post another post” until after Christmas! However! I have found myself enjoying this Christmas Eve evening by watching one of my favorite of all time movies (you probably have been drawn to the movie too) and I’ve got to talk to you about the movie, and the times. “Miracle On 34th Street” has always found a place of warmth in my soul. As I see the downtown store scenes of Christmas shoppers in the movie, my mind drifts back to the days of my childhood. My step-father was usually away from home working as a merchant seaman, so my mother would take my younger brother, sister, and me “downtown” on shopping excursions. My mother was very good at shopping and not letting us know that all of the wrapped boxes “were not really ours.” As with many downtown shopping areas in America “in the 50s,” we had streets in my home town that were lined with tall buildings, such as Sears, Penny’s, Woolworth’s, McCrory’s, Kress’s, and you know the rest of them. The streets were nicely decorated with “Christmas” markings (not Happy Holidays yet!). The store personnel would always say, “Merry Christmas,” without the fear of being fired! My family didn’t have a car, so we would always ride a city busy or take a cab. The drivers were very friendly and would also give “Christmas greetings” to us. I can remember the long kelly green coat that my mother wore; she always had a wide black belt around the coat; and, she would have on black high heels – she had given up on wearing a hat and white gloves (sort of what Aunt Bea would wear!). And, we didn’t have a television at home. So, now you know all about my family. Now! Back to the movie. I am very envious of the people of my age who were able to do their “downtown shopping” in the cities of Boston, Philadelphia, New York, St. Louis and the other large cities. The stores that are mentioned in “Miracle On 34th Street,” such as Macy’s, Gimbel’s, Stern’s, Bloomingdale’s, McCreery’s and Hearns must have been wonderful places to shop. In the movie, a Macy’s store employee referred a shopper over to Gimble’s for an item that cost $2.98; can you imagine that? the price or the courtesy! Well, back to the movie. I trust that all of you will have a very merry Christmas.

The following movie clips of Miracle On 34th Street are provided instead of the full movie that I posted last year, which has been removed from YouTube. The movie scenes were taken from the 1947 production of Miracle On 34th Street. The last scene always finds a warm spot in my heart. A few days ago, I was traveling through a neighborhood where I lived as a young boy. The day was crisp; the leaves had turned an autumn color; the sky was rich blue. I came upon a house that was probably built around 1955; it was very close in appearance and character to the one that is shown in the last scene of the movie clips. I got out of my car and looked into the house, which was vacant. Oh! You can not imagine how I felt when I saw the rooms of the house; they were very similar to the ones that are shown in that last movie scene. Those few minutes really “made my day!” I trust that you will find such days of memory and warmth as you make your travels.

Miracle On 34th Street – Part 1

Miracle On 34th Street – Part 2

Miracle On 34th Street – Part 3

Miracle On 34th Street – Part 4

Miracle On 34th Street – Part 5

Miracle On 34th Street – 1947

Please follow this blog.

One thought on “Christmas In The 50s

  1. IT IS A PAGAN HOLIDAY WHICH HAS ABSOLUTELY NO CONNECTION WITH JESUS CHRIST, AND IN FACT JESUS CHRIST WAS NOT BORN ON DECEMBER 25TH, AND AS CHRISTIANS WE SHOULD BE OBSERVING CHANUKAH, AS HE HAS DONE WHEN CHRIST WAS A CHILD. I AM SICK AND TIRED OF THIS PHONY WORLD OF CHRISTMAS, IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH CHRIST, NOR THE BIRTH, DEATH, AND RESURRECTION OF CHRIST. TO PARA PHRASE, HOW IN VAIN THEY WORSHIP CHRIST TEACHING TRADITIONS OF MEN. IT IS A TOTAL SIN TO EVEN CONNECT CHRIST WITH THIS PAGAN HOLIDAY, THOSE THAT OBSERVE THIS HOLIDAY NEED TO REPENT. PUT SOME STUDY INTO THIS PEOPLE, NO YOU ARE NOT REPLACING SOMETHING WITH SOMETHING!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

