Search Me O’ God – Cleanse Me

Click onto the link to see the post on the blog.

https://cchurchchurchblog.wordpress.com/

Glen Payne (on the left) and George Younce (on the right) sang with the Cathedrals for many years. Now, they’re in Heaven singing praises to our Lord God Almighty! But, still, I miss them. Consider the words to the whole song, followed by the written words. It was an honor for me to have heard Glen, George, and all of the Cathedrals in concert in about 1990. Whenever I am a guest speaker I will usually sing this beautiful song, being accompanied by a woman from the local congregation, who sings soprano. The song should be sung “with feeling,” and may be sung effectively acapella. The words of the song tell a meaningful story of God and mankind.

Search me, O God, and know my heart today;
Try me, O Savior, know my thoughts, I pray.
See if there be some wicked way in me;
Cleanse me from ev’ry sin and set me free.

I praise Thee, Lord, for cleansing me from sin;
Fulfill Thy Word, and make me pure within.
Fill me with fire, where once I burned with shame;
Grant my desire to magnify Thy Name.

Lord, take my life, and make it wholly Thine;
Fill my poor heart with Thy great love divine.
Take all my will, my passion, self and pride;
I now surrender, Lord. In me abide.

O Holy Ghost, revival comes from Thee;
Send a revival – start the work in me.
Thy Word declares Thou wilt supply our need;
For blessings now, O Lord, I humbly plead...

The second video shows a group of gospel singers paying tribute to Glen and George, as they also sing “Cleanse Me,” or “Search Me O’ God.”

“Hankees” may be needed. I needed them!

Psalm 139:23-24 King James Version (KJV)

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:
24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

The following comments on the scriptures are taken from the Reformation Study Bible, Editor, Dr. R.C. Sproul.

Ps. 139 This psalm is the prayer of a person who calls on God, announcing that he is innocent of all charges. With this purpose in mind he meditates on the character of God, exploring God’s wisdom, His omniscience, and His greatness as the Creator.

139:23 Search . . . know . . . Try. The psalmist trusts God and invites Him to probe his innermost thoughts and feelings (v. 1). He submits himself to God’s correction and direction.

5 thoughts on “Search Me O’ God – Cleanse Me

Leave a Reply

