God’s Grace And Mercy

“Grace be with you, mercy, and peace, from God the Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ, the Son of the Father, in truth and love”(2 John 3).

Consider “grace” and “mercy.” Grace is something which God gives us, that we don’t deserve, such as the gift of eternal life with Him in Heaven. Because of God’s Mercy, we, wo are believers in Jesus, are saved from that which we do deserve, which is eternal torment and separation from God is an eternity in Hell.

As I watched the videos of the Mississippi Mass Choir, I had a very difficult time choosing only one video to put with this post. The man who is singing, Mr. Frank Williams, has passed from this life and is spending his eternal life with God in heaven. The expressions that I saw on the face of Mr. Williams spoke many words about his sincere love for his Lord, our Lord, Jesus Christ.

As Mr. Williams and the choir sang the old songs of the church, I was able to remember them as being some of the ones that were sung when I was a little boy. I can remember the Baptist, Methodist, Nazarene, and Churches Of God that I attended with my relatives. Most of those loved ones have also gone on to be with our Lord and Savior, Jesus. One of my sets of grandparents attended a Church of God. It was there that I would find myself asleep on one of the wooden pews, as the evening would “continue on.” I had an “Uncle Charlie;” he attended a Nazarene church. If company would ever go to his house on a Sunday morning, Uncle Charlie would go to church, with or without his company. I remember that when Uncle Charlie died, the preacher couldn’t make it through his message of memorial without crying. It was at a Baptist church, at the age of ten, that I responded to the preacher’s message of salvation through faith in Jesus, and walked down the aisle and made a profession of faith in Jesus as my Lord and Savior. The pastor and church members gave me “the right hand of Christian fellowship.” It was not long afterward that I was immersed in the waters of baptism by that same pastor.

As a child, it was common for most of my friends and their families to go to Sunday School and Church. I remember that Sunday night church services were well-attended. Wednesday nights were popular, too. Vacation Bible School was fun. Revivals would last for two weeks, or more. In Baptist churches, we had a program for boys that was called “RAs,” or Royal Ambassadors. We had RA meetings on Wednesday nights where we would study the Bible and memorize scriptures. On weekdays we would have sporting events. I still keep in touch with my RA leader of “many years ago.” “Brother Louis,” who is now age eighty, coached boys at church and playgrounds for forty-three years. Many of his boys, including me, keep in touch with him frequently.

Mr. Williams, whom I mentioned earlier in this post, was about my age; I wish that I could have known him. People like him, and Brother Louis, and my Uncle Charlie, are manifestations of God’s grace and mercy. I am sure that there are many others who have been blessed by having such people to grace their lives.

Click on to the link to see the post.

https://cchurchchurchblog.wordpress.com/
Click onto the above link to see the post as it is shown on the blog. You will see a clearer view of the post, as well as the opening video, and others that may be included in the post. You will also see prior posts. If you have a forwarded copy of the post, you can also click onto any blue line, letter, number or symbol to see the video and other posts and videos that are posted on the blog

4 thoughts on “God’s Grace And Mercy

  1. Dear Equipping,
    What a lovely reflection of some very special people on your life.
    Your memories of childhood church visits are touching. It’s wonderful how The Lord touched you at such a tender age.
    Growing up in the Catholic church was a bit different. We attended “mass” weekly and on holy days of obligation and spent several years in ” Religious instructions” in order to receive the sacraments of First Holy Communion, First Confession, ( a scary event to be sure), and Confirmation. And I was blessed to fall in love with The Lord and his works during His time on earth, especially his enormous innate capacity for unconditional love, but I think now as an adult I was always going to feel this way about Him. In other words I do not think The Church stirred these feelings in me.
    I am glad your church experiences touched you as they did. It would be glorious if all churches did this.
    Thank you for sharing your experiences.
    Talking to the Lord.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

