040715 – Being Jesus To Someone

35 for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; 36 I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’
37 “Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? 38 When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? 39 Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ 40 And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’

Matthew 25:35-40 New King James Version (NKJV)

Give Me Jesus – Fernando Ortega

Ruth Graham Tribute

We are prone to be thankful for the things that people have given to us. Ruth Graham spent a life of giving, with much of that giving being the gift of the love of her Lord, Jesus Christ. In the video, Fernando Ortega plays a wonderful song of tribute to our sister, Ruth. I am sure that many people could tell stories of how much they had been blessed by the relationship of love that they had experienced with Ruth Graham.

The scripture passage of Matthew tells of the future blessings of God that will be given to the gentiles who treat the Jews with proper love and respect during the coming time of tribulation. A secondary application of that passage relates to us today. We probably all know of someone who needs the love and care that can be given to them by us, who are the body of Christ, and who should know and be able to share our Savior’s love with those of whom we call, “the least of these.”

Per our Lord’s Words, if we show love or kindness to a homeless person, maybe to a drug addict or prostitute, or to a homosexual, it is as if we are showing that same love and kindness to Jesus, Himself. Those, and other needy people that we may encounter in day-to-day travels and communications, are in desperate need of someone “being Jesus to them.”

God has blessed me with the opportunity and ability to minister to certain people who were experiencing extreme hardships. I would like to tell you about one such incident. A man who I will call Mr. Johns, had lost his job, and had many health issues that had come upon him at the same time. As a result of his many problems, he was unable to pay the rent amount that was due on the home where he and his family resided. I made the need known to a network of prayer warriors for someone to pay his rent. God moved a gracious ministry to meet that rent need. But, a late fee had risen, and without the rent amount, with the late fee being paid with it, Mr. Johns would be evicted from his house. I went to the rental agency of the home of Mr.Johns. I explained the situation to a nice young lady. Then, I said: “do you know ‘Matthew 25:40?” She replied, “no.” I said, please let me tell you; and followed with, “in as much as you did it to one of the least of these, my brethren, you did it to me.” Then, with the boldness that came from God I said, “someone needs to “be Jesus” to Mr. Johns.” The woman then waived the late fee, and gave the man extra time to make his next payment. There was still a need that existed that related to the day-to-day financial needs that Mr. Johns could not meet. So, I went to another business and spoke to a man about the need of Mr. Johns. I then asked the man if he knew Matthew 25:40; and I proceeded to quote that scripture again, and made the same bold statement again; “Somebody needs to “be Jesus” to Mr. Johns.” That business man gave $400 to the man, and gave even more money until the man no longer had such a need. Altogether, that business man gave more than $2500 to meet the financial needs of Mr. Johns. Please let me say that the business man has been known to be a very generous man, and without having a great financial wealth of his own. That man’s relationship with God is his reward for doing such benevolent things for “the least of these.”

It is impossible for me to know which similar need may be placed before you tomorrow, the next day, the next week or month, or even during the next year. But, whenever the situation may arise, you may be able to “be Jesus” to someone who has never known Jesus in a personal and saving way, and who has never had anyone to “be Jesus” to them in any other way. May our Lord Jesus bless you with such an experience, and may He bless you because of how you responded to the need of someone who needed you to “be Jesus” to them.

5 thoughts on “040715 – Being Jesus To Someone

Leave a Reply

