040415 – Jesus, The Gentle Shepherd

28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Matthew 11:28-30 New King James Version (NKJV)

As we consider the significance of this Resurrection Sunday in which our Lord and Savior, Jesus, arose from the dead, so that we who believe in Him will have eternal life with Him, let us also consider the comfort that we find written in the words of the Savior, who is our gentle Shepherd. The words, “Come to me,” cover a lot of territory; they even include the communion table. On the night of the betrayal of Jesus; on the night that Jesus and His disciples came around a table to share in the Passover meal, Jesus not only served Judas Iscariot the bread and the wine, He also washed the feet of Judas. If there seems to be error in this thought, with all sincerity of heart, please, give me a list ….. Let’s consider four other verses of scripture that tell about the love that Jesus has for those of us who know Him as our Lord and Savior

John 4:10-12 New King James Version (NKJV)

10 Jesus answered and said to her, “If you knew the gift of God, and who it is who says to you, ‘Give Me a drink,’ you would have asked Him, and He would have given you living water.”

John 7:38 New King James Version (NKJV)

38 He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water.”

Revelation 7:17 New King James Version (NKJV)

17 for the Lamb who is in the midst of the throne will shepherd them and lead them to living fountains of waters. And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.”

Revelation 21:1-6 New King James Version (NKJV)

1 Now I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away. Also there was no more sea. 2 Then I, John, saw the holy city, New Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. 3 And I heard a loud voice from heaven saying, “Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and He will dwell with them, and they shall be His people. God Himself will be with them and be their God. 4 And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.”
5 Then He who sat on the throne said, “Behold, I make all things new.” And He said to me, “Write, for these words are true and faithful.”
6 And He said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. I will give of the fountain of the water of life freely to him who thirsts.

Now that we have had a thought, and have read some words about Jesus, let’s share the message of Christ with some more music that has been provided by Bill Gaither. The videos were made about twenty years ago. The songs tell of Jesus, Heaven and home. A number of those who you will see and hear praising Jesus have gone on to be with our Lord and Savior. They will be missed by us, but will rejoice in Heaven where they will be singing praises to Jesus forever. In the videos where Vestal Goodman is singing, you will notice a handkerchief in her left hand; such warm thoughts of my childhood. As you watch the videos, you may notice a shift of your own personal emotions. It was very difficult for me to put the songs in any particular sequence that would give proper respect to Jesus. I pray that I have given due honor and glory to our Lord, as I have attempted to do so with this post.

When He Was On The Cross (I Was On His Mind)

He Is Here

Til The Storm Passes By

Sweet Jesus

Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus

Farther Along

What A Day That Will Be

Sweet, Sweet Spirit

Sweet Beulah Land

Looking For A City

This Is Just What Heaven Means To Me

Then I Met The Master

I Know Who Holds Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

