031415 – Where Ya’ Goin’?

People go to different types of places to find fulfillment for their lives; there are many reasons, but oftentimes we don’t understand their reasoning for the places that they go. Consider loneliness. Lonely people go to be with other people, wherever those “other people” can be found. Those places may be dance clubs, pool halls, bars and other places that most believers in Christ will not go; there can be good reasons for that seemingly protective reluctance. Still, the lonely people that congregate in those apparently, ungodly, places are the ones that Jesus provided directions for us in the great commission. Consider those words of Jesus, our Lord and Savior.

Matthew 28:19-20 Good News Translation (GNT)

19 Go, then, to all peoples everywhere and make them my disciples: baptize them in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, 20 and teach them to obey everything I have commanded you…

It is very clear that all of us can not go “to all peoples everywhere.” However, we who are bloggers have the world at our fingertips. Many believers in Jesus may wonder why I use secular videos and blog titles so often. The reason is that I am fishing for unbelievers to take my bait and read the blessings of God’s Holy Word. I may post a video that has a totally secular video, but, somewhere in that post I will include words of scripture. Sometimes, not all of each video may be appropriate for a church group or “Sunday School Class,” but, I am trying to attract people to my posts who have no relationship with Jesus, in any way, shape, fashion or form.

When I was a member of the military, I was known to be a non-drinker. So, I became a designated driver for people who had as their “place to go,” a pool hall, bar or dance club. The members of my unit knew where I stood with Christ, and they had a great respect for me. With or without me, “the guys” were going “to their place” for the evening. It was my concern that they went and returned safely, so, I drove them – I wasn’t too bad at pool, either. But…I stayed off the dance floor; that was my “no-go-zone.” The guys were very accommodating when it came to my “beverages;” it was, “give him a coke!” I can relate to the Mash television series. The chaplain for the 4077th Mobile Army Surgical Hospital was “Father Mulcahy.” He was “one of the guys” at that Mash Unit in South Korea, during the Korean War, in the tv series. The people in that Chaplain’s Unit knew where he stood with Christ. He had a close, but casual, relationship with everyone in the 4077th, which was similar to the situation that I had in my units where I was stationed.

During my non-military times, I have gone under a bridge in a major city where homeless people “called home.” I have ministered to homeless people, prostitutes, homosexuals, drug addicts and alcoholics. Each time of witness was a safe one. I can remember very vividly the times that I would hold a hand of one of the “ladies of the evening,” and pray with them and watch tears flow from their eyes down their cheeks. I would ask them if they knew Jesus as their Lord and Savior; most of them would say, “yes, but my life is a wreck.” Many of “those ladies” grew up in “the church.” One lady used to sing in her church choir; she acquired aids. Another woman told me that she performed her “first act for money” was when her child needed food. Another young woman told me about her church; she had leukemia. All of this may be very difficult for believers to grasp, but I will make it very simple. When you’re a woman, and you don’t have any money, and you don’t have any food to eat, and you don’t have a place to sleep — and you bring a child into the equation — you don’t know what you will do to survive. I have seen homeless women of mothers’ ages, on Mothers’ Days, walking the streets with no place to go. In the warm months they would wear jeans, athletic shoes and a shirt; when the weather got cold, they would put on a jacket.

During my travels I would normally stay in “flea bag motels.” By staying in such places, I was able to talk to a lot of people about their relationships with Jesus. One day, as I was checking into a motel, while I was putting my things away, I laid my Bible on the bed. (We have all heard someone say that they opened up their Bible and it opened to such and such a verse). Guess what! My Bible, somehow, opened itself to Jeremiah 18. I began reading…

Jeremiah 18:1-6 New King James Version (NKJV)

The Potter and the Clay

1 The word which came to Jeremiah from the Lord, saying: 2 “Arise and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause you to hear My words.”3 Then I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was, making something at the wheel. 4 And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter; so he made it again into another vessel, as it seemed good to the potter to make. 5 Then the word of the Lord came to me, saying: 6 “O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter?” says the Lord. “Look, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are you in My hand, O house of Israel!

Then, I said, “God are you making me and molding me?” The answer was “yes.” It was on that day that I understood why the things of Matthew 25:40 (“unto the least of these”) had been taking place in my life.

Matthew 25:35-40 New King James Version (NKJV)

35 for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; 36 I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’
37 “Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? 38 When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? 39 Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ 40 And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’

Up until this point in time, I really didn’t understand the Divine purpose that was behind what I had been doing. Yes! I knew that I was providing ministry to “the least of these,” but I didn’t fully comprehend the direction that God had placed in my life.

The Apostle Paul said that we should be “all things to all people,” as we find in the following scriptures.

1 Corinthians 9:21-23 Living Bible (TLB)

21 When with the heathen I agree with them as much as I can, except of course that I must always do what is right as a Christian. And so, by agreeing, I can win their confidence and help them too.
22 When I am with those whose consciences bother them easily, I don’t act as though I know it all and don’t say they are foolish; the result is that they are willing to let me help them. Yes, whatever a person is like, I try to find common ground with him so that he will let me tell him about Christ and let Christ save him. 23 I do this to get the Gospel to them and also for the blessing I myself receive when I see them come to Christ.

Let me encourage all Christian bloggers to be prayerfully innovative in their methods of witnessing the message of Christ. We have been given a tremendous opportunity to spread the gospel of Christ to parts of the world that missionaries can not physically go. I am especially concerned for the “billion plus” Muslims around the world, who may never listen to a missionary or be able to read a single word of the Gospel of Christ.

Acts 1:8 Living Bible (TLB)

8 But when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, you will receive power to testify about me with great effect, to the people in Jerusalem, throughout Judea, in Samaria, and to the ends of the earth, about my death and resurrection.”

Now, let’s enjoy the video.

Daryl Hall And Smokey Robinson

Going To A Go Go

4 thoughts on “031415 – Where Ya’ Goin’?

  1. There is so much common ground in your writing, I am only the single one now in my family that has turned to God for guidance. i can associate with the potter, I know God is molding the people around me and placed me where I am for a purpose. I am so lucky to be where I am now to learn and live with God.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

