030115 – Preparing For Rain

(For those who receive this post by email, please click onto any blue line, figure, number or letter so that you can view the video and see other posts)

The game of football teaches many things about life and serving God. Consider the lessons that are taught in the movie, “Facing The Giants.”

Let us consider the conversation that takes place between Mr. Bridges and Coach Grant Taylor in the following video.

Preparing For Rain – Facing The Giants

Prepare yourself, your ministry, for God’s blessings.

Hosea 10:12 King James 2000 Bible
Sow to yourselves in righteousness, reap in mercy; break up your fallow ground: for it is time to seek the LORD, till he comes and rains righteousness upon you

Never give up as long as God holds the door to his blessings open for you.

Rev 3:8 King James 2000 Bible
I know your works: behold, I have set before you an open door, and no man can shut it: for you have a little strength, and have kept my word, and have not denied my name.

You may be an encourager for others. That is a mighty calling on your life.

Acts 4:36 King James 2000 Bible
And Joseph, who by the apostles was surnamed Barnabas, (which is, being interpreted, The son of encouragement,) a Levite, and of the country of Cyprus,

The last-named item of “The Whole Armor Of God” is prayer. We are to “pray for the saints.” Saints is a word that identifies all of us who have been “born again” and are part of the spiritual body of Christ.

Ephesians 6:18 King James 2000 Bible
Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thus with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;

Ephesians 6:1 King James 2000 Bible
Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ by the will of God, to the saints who are at Ephesus, and to the faithful in Christ Jesus:

Consider Daniel’s prayer. In it, you will see the sinful situation that exists in our world today.

Daniel 9:3-19 New English Translation (NET Bible)

3 So I turned my attention to the Lord God to implore him by prayer and requests, with fasting, sackcloth, and ashes. 4 I prayed to the Lord my God, confessing in this way:
“O Lord, great and awesome God who is faithful to his covenant with those who love him and keep his commandments, 5 we have sinned! We have done what is wrong and wicked; we have rebelled by turning away from your commandments and standards. 6 We have not paid attention to your servants the prophets, who spoke by your authority to our kings, our leaders, and our ancestors, and to all the inhabitants of the land as well.
7 “You are righteous, O Lord, but we are humiliated this day—the people of Judah and the inhabitants of Jerusalem and all Israel, both near and far away in all the countries in which you have scattered them, because they have behaved unfaithfully toward you. 8 O Lord, we have been humiliated—our kings, our leaders, and our ancestors—because we have sinned against you. 9 Yet the Lord our God is compassionate and forgiving, even though we have rebelled against him. 10 We have not obeyed the Lord our God by living according to his laws that he set before us through his servants the prophets.
11 “All Israel has broken your law and turned away by not obeying you. Therefore you have poured out on us the judgment solemnly threatened in the law of Moses the servant of God, for we have sinned against you. 12 He has carried out his threats against us and our rulers who were over us by bringing great calamity on us—what has happened to Jerusalem has never been equaled under all heaven! 13 Just as it is written in the law of Moses, so all this calamity has come on us. Still we have not tried to pacify the Lord our God by turning back from our sin and by seeking wisdom from your reliable moral standards.14 The Lord was mindful of the calamity, and he brought it on us. For the Lord our God is just in all he has done, and we have not obeyed him.
15 “Now, O Lord our God, who brought your people out of the land of Egypt with great power and made a name for yourself that is remembered to this day—we have sinned and behaved wickedly. 16 O Lord, according to all your justice, please turn your raging anger away from your city Jerusalem, your holy mountain. For due to our sins and the iniquities of our ancestors, Jerusalem and your people are mocked by all our neighbors.
17 “So now, our God, accept the prayer and requests of your servant, and show favor to your devastated sanctuary for your own sake. 18 Listen attentively, my God, and hear! Open your eyes and look on our desolated ruins and the city called by your name. For it is not because of our own righteous deeds that we are praying to you, but because your compassion is abundant. 19 O Lord, hear! O Lord, forgive! O Lord, pay attention, and act! Don’t delay, for your own sake, O my God! For your city and your people are called by your name.”

Consider the answer to Daniel’s prayer; it is relevant to us today.

Daniel 10:2-14 New English Translation (NET Bible)

2 In those days I, Daniel, was mourning for three whole weeks. 3 I ate no choice food; no meat or wine came to my lips, nor did I anoint myself with oil until the end of those three weeks.
4 On the twenty-fourth day of the first month I was beside the great river, the Tigris. 5 I looked up and saw a man clothed in linen; around his waist was a belt made of gold from Ufaz. 6 His body resembled yellow jasper, and his face had an appearance like lightning. His eyes were like blazing torches; his arms and feet had the gleam of polished bronze. His voice thundered forth like the sound of a large crowd.
7 Only I, Daniel, saw the vision; the men who were with me did not see it. On the contrary, they were overcome with fright and ran away to hide. 8 I alone was left to see this great vision. My strength drained from me, and my vigor disappeared; I was without energy. 9 I listened to his voice, and as I did so I fell into a trance-like sleep with my face to the ground. 10 Then a hand touched me and set me on my hands and knees. 11 He said to me, “Daniel, you are of great value. Understand the words that I am about to speak to you. So stand up, for I have now been sent to you.” When he said this to me, I stood up shaking. 12 Then he said to me, “Don’t be afraid, Daniel, for from the very first day you applied your mind to understand and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard. I have come in response to your words.13 However, the prince of the kingdom of Persia was opposing me for twenty-one days. But Michael, one of the leading princes, came to help me, because I was left there with the kings of Persia. 14 Now I have come to help you understand what will happen to your people in the latter days, for the vision pertains to future days.”

My thoughts. Daniel prayed. His prayer was immediately heard and answered. The delivery of the answer to Daniel’s prayer came later.

In the movie Coach Taylor made the challenge to his team, “if we win we’ll praise Him, if we lose we”ll praise Him.” Consider Job’s situation after having “lost it all.” (Job 1:13-19)

Job 1:20-21 New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

20 Then Job arose, tore his robe, shaved his head, and fell on the ground and worshiped. 21 He said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return there; the Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.”

A final thought from the video clip is: “do your best and leave the rest up to God.”

2 Timothy 2:15 New International Version
Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.

Many of life’s lessons can be learned from the game of football. Let us pray for the coaches and players of football teams everywhere.

17 thoughts on “030115 – Preparing For Rain

      1. The Daniel example is very important. Daniel prayed, and the prayer was answered. The delivery came later. That is the same thing with us. Our prayers are answered and the answers are delivered based on God’s timing; He takes care of the details that we might miss. Let me share an example of what I am saying. Let’s say that your left leg is broken and ask me to pray for God to heal your left leg. During my prayer for your left leg, I may say for God to heal your right leg. God can figure out the details and heal the proper leg. That is a bit simplistic but I think that it is a clear illustration of the fact that God knows how to answer our prayers. Please have a blessed night.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I understand totally what you are saying; the more intense response is when before we even ask for a thing it is presented to us. It blows my mind. God is unequal when it comes to creating a surprise. 🙂 vw

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Also consider that our spirit is in sync with God’s Holy Spirit. When we ask a prayer it goes directly to God, where he works out the details, such as your right or left leg. I will continue with some other thoughts. Thanks for your comment.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

