120614 – Christmas Eve And Divorce

Marlee and Jacob were married on Christmas Eve, “twenty years ago.” On this Christmas Eve, the couple are headed to an attorney’s office…to sign divorce papers. Think about Marlee, Jacob, and your marriage situation. Do you remember the words that you and your mate said to each other as you stood before God, the minister, family and friends, and the rest of the people who were watching and listening as you professed your love for one another other? If you have forgotten those special words, I have written a traditional wedding vow for you to consider. Please read it now.

“To have and to hold, from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness or in health, to love and to cherish…’til death do us part.”

If you are also considering a Christmas Eve “divorce papers appointment,” please! Let me ask you to listen to the following audio recording of Marlee and Jacob, as they are on their way to sign their papers…on Christmas Eve. The time of the recording is fifty-four minutes. Let me ask you to set aside an uninterrupted period of time, “for fifty-four minutes.” Think about your wedding vows. Think about your marriage…please. Set aside fifty-four minutes and consider your marriage.

There are two links that will get you to the recording. I am leaving both of them intact so that you will be able to activate at least one of them, in the event that the other may not work. The one that is at the bottom is the one that I have used. You can click “right in the middle” of the wedding ring (amazing, isn’t it?) to begin the recording. After you have listened to the story of Marlee and Jacob (or, of you and your mate), please set aside another eight minutes and seventeen seconds to listen to the song and oratory that are provided by Bill and Gloria Gaither. It tells about the love and challenge that have encompassed their marriage. After you have read, listened to, and watched everything that is in this post, let me ask you a very personal question. You can answer to yourself. So, here it is. When you check something on fb from a “friend” of the opposite sex, “do you get a spark?” If your answer is “yes,” maybe fb is not something that you should have as a part of your life.

http://www.moodyradio.org/christmas-specials/

Christmas Specials | Moody Radio
http://www.moodyradio.org/christmas-specials/ – View by Ixquick Proxy – Highlight
Celebrate Christmas with Moody Radio, and listen to a variety of special programs around the sights, sounds and themes of Christmas.

We Have This Moment Today
Bill And Gloria Gaither

10 thoughts on “120614 – Christmas Eve And Divorce

  1. Divorce leaves a trail of pain and suffering. I think the children get hit the hardest and are torn between the two parents forever.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and for following. I am honored. I look forward to seeing more on your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for your genuine concern regarding divorce. It is tragic and not what God intended. That said, as a woman who has been twice divorced due to husbands’ unfaithfulness and abuse, I am so glad that God is a redeemer who offers second (or third) chances! Every marriage requires work, patience and sacrificial love, even when you both adore each other (as my current husband and I do), and it is easy for me to see how couples become stuck feeling like there is no way out when they are struggling. The brokenness of our lives creates challenges in marriage that the enemy will use to divide us, but God will use to heal and restore us! But I believe that often, especially in abusive situations, God releases us from our vows if the other person refuses to honor the marriage. Regardless, it is still heartbreaking. Thank you for checking out my blog. I’m glad you liked it enough to follow. I hope it will be helpful and encouraging to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comments, and your kind words. One of the things that I remember from your comments in your blog dealt with a person being “religious.” That is such a misuse of a word as it relates to being a believer in Christ. (We can talk about that more, if you find a need to do so.) In regard to my post on Christmas Eve And Divorce, I would like for you to check the comments fo that post. There is one that I made, that relates to a particualr woman’s situation in life. I invite you to read that comment; I think that it will help you to help others. It will be easy for you to find that comment. Please let me know what you think. Many blessings to you, in the Name of Jesus.

      Like

      • I’m sorry to say that I didn’t see your comment until right now. Due to the new formatting through wordpress, I no longer receive notice of new comments. I’m not sure why. Thank you for asking. I have been dealing with health issues and transitioning to having my blog only on my author website, both of which have kept me away. You can find me at laurabennet if you would like to continue following. I pray you are doing well!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for sharing. I just placed a comment on your blog. I think that was laurasconfessions.wordpress.com I accessed it by clicking onto laurabennet. I’m following that first named blog, but I am not receiving any updates. Do you have posts that go to an email address? Thanks for being such a nice person.

        Like

  3. A blogger commented on this post and told about the abusive marriage that she endured for many years. I have removed her comment because of my concern for the woman’s privacy. A thought came across my mind that I may have served her purpose best by not showing her story. If I have done anything that brought about any embarrassment or a breach of confidentiality, I am truly sorry. My reply to the comment can be seen in the following paragraph.

    I am very sorry for your experience of marriage that you described. That should never happen to anybody. The purpose for the post on divorce was to show the importance of marriage. That was the purpose of the gospel writings that told of the times that Jesus was encountered by the Pharisees. In those situations, Jesus did not start his day with the purpose of giving a dissertation of marriage, divorce, and remarriage. He was confronted with situations by the pharisees that were designed to degrade His credibility. There is a passage that tells us that all scripture is inspired by God, literally “God breathed.”
    That verse is 2 Tim 3:16. The 10th chapter of Ezra is no less inspired that those of the gospels. Let me encourage you to read Ezra 10. It discusses divorce. Ezra is telling the Jewish men to send their pagan wives away, which is a divorce. He didn’t tell them to get a trial separation, or to try to “work it out.” He told the men to end their marriages. There is much more than I can add, but that will take much more time than is needed for this particular reply. I can answer any of your questions, and will do so if you ask me to do so. But, please know that you did nothing wrong in ending your marriage. If it is needed, I will be glad to answer any mail privately through email. Thank you for your honesty in your questions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

