101514 Considering Al Di La And Pass It On

In my last post, I spoke about Rome Adventure and its theme song, Al Di La. In the movie, the question was raised about the meaning of “Al Di La.” The explanation that was given was; “it’s hard to explain; It’s far far away, beyond the beyond, beyond this world; that’s how much he loves her in this song.” Those words relate to another kind of love; a love that is far greater than any other love that the world has ever known. There is another song that has words that tell us about such a great love. In the song, “Pass It On,” the words – “that’s how it is with God’s love,” tell a similar story. Yes. For some people, it also can be hard to explain. It is a love that is far far away, in that it can never leave us, regardless of where we might go. Consider astronauts in outer space; the love of God travels with them, regardless of how many millions of miles they might travel away from Planet Earth. If we were to go beyond the world’s known limits, which would have us in a state of “beyond the beyond,” God’s love would not be left “in this beyond.” Even if we were to travel to another world, God’s love would also travel with us. And, yes! God loves us that much; to never, never, let us go anywhere minus His love.

Just as astronauts may travel millions of miles into uncharted areas of outer space in search of the unknown, that seems to be the norm for my mind. Throughout today and this evening, my mind was also traveling, in search of an unknown song. One came to me that took me back to a time when my first born child was in church singing a very special song with other children. My first born, my daughter, was about eleven years old. The sweetness of the evening was so strong that it has stayed with me throughout all of the past thirty years. As I considered the words of the song, and sang it to myself today, tears came to my eyes, over and over. I hope that you are blessed by the song that I have chosen. The people in the choir are simple and humble; they are from Singapore. The choir and the song are very telling of the love that God has expressed for us in Romans 8:38-39.

38 For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, 39 nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Pass It On

Leave a Reply

