Blog Post 081614, Ministry Prayer Discipline

This writing is being addressed to other believers in Christ Jesus who have a desire to serve Him in a very special way. Consider the two scriptures that follow, as they relate to personal prayer times of our Lord. After you have considered those two scripture passages, I would like for you to prayerfully consider the letter that follows. Even though this letter is being disseminated to many people, I would like for each of you to consider that you are the primary recipient.

Luke 6:12
One of those days Jesus went out to a mountainside to pray, and spent the night praying to God.

Matthew 14:23
After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone.

Your ministries are very important to you, and to me. You have been given awesome responsibilities and opportunities to lead your ministries into directions that may seem to you as being unknown. It is up to you to be ready for the things that may confront you, with the help of God.

A few years ago, I had the blessing of visiting the headquarters of an international ministry. As I walked from building to building, and from room to room, I was taken to a room that was not used by anybody, except for the leader of that ministry. That room was located on the upper level of one of the ministry buildings, and was used only by the ministry leader for personal prayer times. That leader went into that room daily for uninterrupted prayer. No one else was allowed to interrupt that prayer time; neither was anyone allowed to go into that room.

It is my belief that you should consider setting aside a time and place for continuous and uninterrupted prayer. You should make it a discipline that can not, and will not be interrupted. The aspect of the Lord’s Sabbath has been something that I have been sharing in the weekly meetings of the church that I lead. The conversation has continued outside of that special group of believers in Christ. I would like for all of you who receive this writing to take time away from your prayer discipline each Sabbath and allow yourself to be refreshed. Prayer can be exhausting, so it should not be something that will take away from your freshness of intimacy with God. It is my recommendation that you use the aftermath of the Lord’s Sabbath, which we know as the Lord’s Day, as a time of continued soul rest, which will be in preparation for the following five days of disciplined prayer. The type of prayer that I am suggesting can be very fatiguing, and will be exhaustive periods of spiritual warfare. But, I think that you will be able to realize a vast harvest of spiritual fruit. Please consider the following prayer verses, and let me know of your thoughts on this subject. My prayers will stay with you.

Philippians 3:10, “… that I may know Him…”

Prayer Bible Verses
· 1 Chronicles 16:11
Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.

· Psalm 4:1
Answer me when I call to you, O my righteous God. Give me relief from my distress; be merciful to me and hear my prayer.

· Psalm 145:18
The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.

· Proverbs 15:29
The LORD is far from the wicked but he hears the prayer of the righteous.

· Matthew 7:11
If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

· Luke 6:12
One of those days Jesus went out to a mountainside to pray, and spent the night praying to God.

· Luke 18:1
Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up.

· Romans 8:26
In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.

· Philippians 4:6
Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

· Colossians 4:2
Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.
· 1 Thessalonians 5:17
pray continually;

· 1 Timothy 2:8
I want men everywhere to pray, lifting up holy hands

· Hebrews 4:14
Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has gone through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess.

· James 1:7
That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord;

· James 4:3
When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.

· James 5:16
Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.

· 1 John 1:9
If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

Now, let us consider the Holiness of our Lord, as Terry MacAlmon leads in the following song of worship and praise.

Holy Are You Lord

Comments are appreciated, and are great sources of encouragement. In order to protect the privacy of bloggers who comment on my posts, no such comments will be shown on my blog. If you would like to have a private response from me, please put your email address in your comment. That data will not be shown anywhere in my blog. Please let me caution all bloggers to protect their privacy. That is why I have removed my community of bloggers and comments from bloggers from my blog.

Leave a Reply

