061514, Friday Evening Sabbath Worship, “You’ve Been Born Again, Now What?”

Introduction

It is Thursday evening. The Day of Preparation began at sunset, and will continue until sunset on Friday. At that time, the Lord’s Sabbath will begin. On Saturday evening at sunset, the Lord’s Day, the first day of the week will begin and will last for twenty-four hours. The majority of Christian congregations meet corporately on the Lords’ Day, usually on Sunday morning. Our church has made a decision to meet as a body on Friday evening, during the time that The Day of Preparation ends and the Lord’s Sabbath begins. By having a Friday evening Sabbath time of worship, we offer an alternative for those who may not be able to attend other worship services on Sunday mornings, or who may desire another day of corporate worship. There is no scriptural basis for identifying any day, over any other day, for a meeting of the saints for worship. If there is thought that God has selected a specific day for corporate worship, there must be a total observance of such a day, with no deviations. So, either all of the world must meet corporately on one particular day, or it must not. It is quite easy to consider the reasons why such a defined day of worship is not contained within God’s Holy Word, and would be a burden for much of God’s people. Please consider:

Mark 2:27, Complete Jewish Bible (CJB)
27 Then he said to them, “Shabbat was made for mankind, not mankind for Shabbat;

Mark 2:27, New American Standard Bible (NASB)
27 Jesus said to them, “The Sabbath was made for man, and not man for the Sabbath

Sermon and Lesson Outline for Friday Evening Sabbath Worship, “You’ve Been Born Again, Now What!”

John 3:1-8, The Message (MSG)
Born from Above, The New Birth
3 1-2 There was a man of the Pharisee sect, Nicodemus, a prominent leader among the Jews. Late one night he visited Jesus and said, “Rabbi, we all know you’re a teacher straight from God. No one could do all the God-pointing, God-revealing acts you do if God weren’t in on it.”
3 Jesus said, “You’re absolutely right. Take it from me: Unless a person is born from above, it’s not possible to see what I’m pointing to—to God’s kingdom.”
4 “How can anyone,” said Nicodemus, “be born who has already been born and grown up? You can’t re-enter your mother’s womb and be born again. What are you saying with this ‘born-from-above’ talk?”
5-6 Jesus said, “You’re not listening. Let me say it again. Unless a person submits to this original creation—the ‘wind-hovering-over-the-water’ creation, the invisible moving the visible, a baptism into a new life—it’s not possible to enter God’s kingdom. When you look at a baby, it’s just that: a body you can look at and touch. But the person who takes shape within is formed by something you can’t see and touch—the Spirit—and becomes a living spirit.
7-8 “So don’t be so surprised when I tell you that you have to be ‘born from above’—out of this world, so to speak. You know well enough how the wind blows this way and that. You hear it rustling through the trees, but you have no idea where it comes from or where it’s headed next. That’s the way it is with everyone ‘born from above’ by the wind of God, the Spirit of God.”

John 3:1-8, J.B. Phillips New Testament (PHILLIPS)
Jesus and a religious leader
3 1-2 One night Nicodemus, a leading Jew and a Pharisee, came to see Jesus. “Master,” he began, “we realise that you are a teacher who has come from God. Obviously no one could show the signs that you show unless God were with him.”
3 “Believe me,” returned Jesus, “a man cannot even see the kingdom of God without being born again.”
4 “And how can a man who’s getting old possibly be born?” replied Nicodemus. “How can he go back into his mother’s womb and be born a second time?”
5-8 “I assure you,” said Jesus, “that unless a man is born from water and from spirit he cannot enter the kingdom of God. Flesh gives birth to flesh and spirit gives birth to spirit: you must not be surprised that I told you that all of you must be born again. The wind blows where it likes, you can hear the sound of it but you have no idea where it comes from and where it goes. Nor can you tell how a man is born by the wind of the Spirit.”

John 3:1-8, New King James Version (NKJV)
The New Birth
1 There was a man of the Pharisees named Nicodemus, a ruler of the Jews. 2 This man came to Jesus by night and said to Him, “Rabbi, we know that You are a teacher come from God; for no one can do these signs that You do unless God is with him.”3 Jesus answered and said to him, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.” 4 Nicodemus said to Him, “How can a man be born when he is old? Can he enter a second time into his mother’s womb and be born?” 5 Jesus answered, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God. 6 That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. 7 Do not marvel that I said to you, ‘You must be born again.’ 8 The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear the sound of it, but cannot tell where it comes from and where it goes. So is everyone who is born of the Spirit.”

2 Corinthians 5:17, Amplified Bible (AMP),The Indwelling Of The Believer In Christ.
17 Therefore if any person is [ingrafted] in Christ (the Messiah) he is a new creation (a new creature altogether); the old [previous moral and spiritual condition] has passed away. Behold, the fresh and new has come!

Colossians 1:26-27, Amplified Bible (AMP), The Indwelling Of Christ In The Believer.

26 The mystery of which was hidden for ages and generations from angels and men], but is now revealed to His holy people (the saints), 27 To whom God was pleased to make known how great for the Gentiles are the riches of the glory of this mystery, which is Christ within and among you, the Hope of [realizing the] glory.

1 John 1:5,The Message (MSG), Perfect Indwelling.
5 This, in essence, is the message we heard from Christ and are passing on to you: God is light, pure light; there’s not a trace of darkness in him.

A Born Again Spirit Is Able To Indwell The Spirit Of Christ, Because in it (the born again spirit) there is no sin(darkness).Until the rapture of the church, the body and soul are waiting to be made perfect and be able to be in the presence of God along with the already abiding spirit (1 Corinthians 4:50-54, 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18).

1 John 3:9, Complete Jewish Bible (CJB), A Perfect Spirit Can Not Sin.
9 No one who has God as his Father keeps on sinning, because the seed planted by God remains in him. That is, he cannot continue sinning, because he has God as his Father.

A Perfect Spirit Can Not Sin. The seed represents the newborn spirit; it can not sin. The body and soul that contain the newborspirit have not been born again, and are capable of sinning; they have not been born again; they are still sinful, until they are translated and made perfect (1 Corinthians 15:50-54, 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18).

John 10:27-30, Complete Jewish Bible (CJB), A Born Again Spirit Is Secure In Christ.
27 My sheep listen to my voice, I recognize them, they follow me, 28 and I give them eternal life. They will absolutely never be destroyed, and no one will snatch them from my hands. 29 My Father, who gave them to me, is greater than all; and no one can snatch them from the Father’s hands. 30 I and the Father are one.”

The born again spirit is secure in Christ, and can not be taken from the indwelling that it has in Christ. That born again spirit is eternally secure in Christ. A born again spirit can not become “unborn again.” The deity of Jesus is explained, “I and the Father are one.”

John 14:8-21, Complete Jewish Bible (CJB), The Complete Indwelling.
8 Philip said to him, “Lord, show us the Father, and it will be enough for us.” 9 Yeshua replied to him, “Have I been with you so long without your knowing me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father; so how can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? 10 Don’t you believe that I am united with the Father, and the Father united with me? What I am telling you, I am not saying on my own initiative; the Father living in me is doing his own works. 11 Trust me, that I am united with the Father, and the Father united with me. But if you can’t, then trust because of the works themselves. 12 Yes, indeed! I tell you that whoever trusts in me will also do the works I do! Indeed, he will do greater ones, because I am going to the Father. 13 In fact, whatever you ask for in my name, I will do; so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask me for something in my name, I will do it. 15 “If you love me, you will keep my commands; 16 and I will ask the Father, and he will give you another comforting Counselor like me, the Spirit of Truth, to be with you forever. 17 The world cannot receive him, because it neither sees nor knows him. You know him, because he is staying with you and will be united with you. 18 I will not leave you orphans — I am coming to you. 19 In just a little while, the world will no longer see me; but you will see me. Because I live, you too will live. 20 When that day comes, you will know that I am united with my Father, and you with me, and I with you. 21 Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me, and the one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and reveal myself to him.”

The Indwelling Of The Father, Son, Spirit, and Born-Again believer is shown, as well as the Trinity.

Now, let us worship our Lord and Savior, Jesus, as we are blessed by soloist and pianist, Alexandria Duarte, of First Baptist Church in Panama City, Florida, USA.

Alexandria Duarte, Soloist
The King Of All Of Me

First Baptist Church, Panama City, FL
Senior Pastor, Dr. Craig Conner
Southern Baptist Convention

1 Corinthians 2:9, 21st Century King James Version (KJ21)
9 But as it is written: “Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man the things which God hath prepared for them that love Him.”

One thought on “061514, Friday Evening Sabbath Worship, “You’ve Been Born Again, Now What?”

Leave a Reply

