061214, Considering The Dispensations Of The Bible – First Dispensation, Innocency, Genesis 1:28

The purpose of my posts is to help to “equip the saints,” “for the work of ministry,” “for the building up of the body of Christ.” (Ephesians 4:12). Through a study of the dispensations of the Bible, a great deal of knowledge will be attained by those who will thoroughly study that information. The information that was collected and published by Dr. C.I. Scofield is extremely helpful for all serious students of the Bible.

Scofield’s Notes

Learn the Bible Using C. I. Scofield’s Study Reference

For over 90 years people have relied on this reference work in their daily study of God’s Word. Written originally in 1909, C. I. Scofield’s intent was to provide a concise but complete tool that would meet the need of someone just beginning to read the Bible. Cyrus Scofield was born in Lenawee County, Michigan, but during the American Civil War after his conversion to evangelical Christianity in 1879, Scofield assisted in the St. Louis campaign conducted by Dwight L. Moody and in 1883 Scofield was ordained as a Congregationalist minister, and he accepted the pastorate of small mission church founded by that denomination.

Book of Genesis

Genesis 1:28

Bible Verse:
Then God blessed them, and God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply; fill the earth and subdue it; have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over every living thing that moves on the earth.”

Verse 28

DISPENSATION

A dispensation is a period of time during which man is tested in respect of obedience to some specific revelation of the will of God. Seven such dispensations are distinguished in Scripture. (See Scofield “Genesis 1:28”), note 5.

And God blessed them

The First Dispensation: Innocency. Man was created in innocency, placed in a perfect environment, subjected to an absolutely simple test, and warned of the consequence of disobedience. The woman fell through pride; the man deliberately. 1 Timothy 2:14 God restored His sinning creatures, but the dispensation of innocency ended in the judgment of the Expulsion Genesis 3:24

1 Timothy 2:14

Revised Standard Version (RSV)

14 and Adam was not deceived, but the woman was deceived and became a transgressor.

Genesis 3:24

Revised Standard Version (RSV)

24 He drove out the man; and at the east of the garden of Eden he placed the cherubim, and a flaming sword which turned every way, to guard the way to the tree of life.

Now, let us worship our Lord and Savior, Jesus, as we are blessed by the five hundred member choir of Prestonwood Baptist Church. Consider the holiness of the song, and of the scripture that follows the song.

Threshold Of Glory

Prestonwood Baptist Church
Southern Baptist Convention
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Dr. Jack Graham, Senior Pastor

Isaiah 6:1-8, American Standard Version (ASV)

6 In the year that king Uzziah died I saw the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up; and his train filled the temple.

2 Above him stood the seraphim: each one had six wings; with twain he covered his face, and with twain he covered his feet, and with twain he did fly.

3 And one cried unto another, and said, Holy, holy, holy, is Jehovah of hosts: the whole earth is full of his glory.

4 And the foundations of the thresholds shook at the voice of him that cried, and the house was filled with smoke.

5 Then said I, Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, Jehovah of hosts.

6 Then flew one of the seraphim unto me, having a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with the tongs from off the altar:

7 and he touched my mouth with it, and said, Lo, this hath touched thy lips; and thine iniquity is taken away, and thy sin forgiven.

8 And I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then I said, Here am I; send me.

8 thoughts on “061214, Considering The Dispensations Of The Bible – First Dispensation, Innocency, Genesis 1:28

  1. A truly great lesson on Dispensation. Thank you for sharing and may the Lord continue to blessed you as you teach and equip the Children of God.

    Like

      • Thanks for your reply. I have been wondering how you are doing; your family; your church. I don’t use the blog for conversations, just for an extension of my pulpit. If it is okay, I would like for you to be able to read the things that I write. I understand the time, and other things, that can be involved in blogging. I also know that you have been given a tremendous gift of communicating the love of Christ. I hope that you will be able to see that gift through its course in your life. Please hang onto my blog link, and let me know if there is ever anything that I can do to help you. Please have a blessed day, and know how much of a blessing that you have brought into my day today. Brenda is still having her depression and sleep problems. Our church has sent out two groups of people, so we are in a rebulding state. We are now meeting on Saturdays at noon. That works well for us. Thanks for your concerns. Eph 4:11-12

        Like

Leave a Reply

