051914, Luke The Investigative Reporter, Luke 1:1-4

This thought came to my by way of a post that was placed by a fellow blogger who lives in New York State, please check out her blog. A link is provided below.

Consider the Gospel writer, Luke. He was an investigative reporter. Truth is essential in the life of anyone who knows Jesus as their Lord and Savior.

Luke 1:1-4, The Message (MSG)

1 1-4 So many others have tried their hand at putting together a story of the wonderful harvest of Scripture and history that took place among us, using reports handed down by the original eyewitnesses who served this Word with their very lives. Since I have investigated all the reports in close detail, starting from the story’s beginning, I decided to write it all out for you, most honorable Theophilus, so you can know beyond the shadow of a doubt the reliability of what you were taught.

Truth triumphs over politics:

John 8:32, King James Version (KJV)

32 And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

The Truth of Jesus Christ should be told to “all the world.”

Matthew 28:19-20, King James Version (KJV)

19 Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:

20 Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.

Check the blog:

Today at 6:01 AM
Respond to this post by replying above this line
New post on Serious thoughts taken not so seriously

A Good store.
by katebortell

Image

Read that sign.

Do you see handwritten signs like that at the entrance to your local department store, with a verse from one of the Psalms on it? I surely don’t.

Except recently I did. And I was almost jumping up and down for joy. I unabashedly took out my phone and snapped that picture. I didn’t think anyone would believe me! I needed proof.

Proof that there are places in this world that are not only unafraid to proclaim their belief in and love for the Lord, but they pretty much see it as their responsibility. And so yes, I took that picture and now I share it with all of you.

You probably know I live in NY. This picture was not taken in NY. Big shock right? It was taken in Pennsylvania, my home away from home. In Lancaster County, right in the middle of Amish and Mennonite farms. At a lovely store I never forget to visit while I’m there. And it’s appropriately called Good’s Store.

The Good part of the store’s name is from the founder, Harry Good. Still, it could just as well have meant that this is a good store, run by good people, and all for the good of the Lord. Because that is this store’s mission. Yup, they have a mission statement, and here it is,

“To do a profitable business, to develop people, to serve the public and the community according to Christian principles and to God’s Honor and Glory.”

And they mean it. You never run into nasty cashiers, or employees who would rather be anywhere else and don’t try to hide it. Everyone is helpful and kind. It’s unbelievable at first. But again, I’m from NY.

I wonder how many of the more well known department stores around the country, and around the world, hold to the principles of The Good’s Store?

There’s nothing wrong with owning a business and wanting to make a profit. But most businesses do not seek to do it all for the Honor and Glory of God. They want the honor and glory all for themselves. Not to mention a huge profit at the expense of overcharging their customers.

If I ran a store, I’d want it to be a good store, just like this. I’d want people to enjoy the experience of just being in my store, of being greeted with kindness and finding treasures that speak of home and family and God.

If I ran a store, I’d want it to be a Good’s Store.

katebortell | May 22, 2014 at 6:00 am | Categories: Uncategorized | URL: http://wp.me/p3VE2w-1ss
Comment See all comments Like

Unsubscribe to no longer receive posts from Serious thoughts taken not so seriously.
Change your email settings at Manage Subscriptions.

Trouble clicking? Copy and paste this URL into your browser:
http://katebortell.wordpress.com/2014/05/22/a-good-store/
Thanks for flying with WordPress.com
Reply, Reply All or Forward | More
Click to reply all
Send

A quick preview of the full concert
Michael W Smith A New Hallelujah Featuring The African Children’s

Michael W Smith – A New Hallelujah (Full Concert)

Philippians 3:10, New King James Version (NKJV)

10 that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death,

Leave a Reply

