051614, The Vietnam War, John 15:13

The US involvement in Vietnam was from 1950 until the last US combat troops were withdrawn in 1973. Presidents Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon were the commanders in Chief. There were more than 500,00 US troops stationed there by 1969. 58,220 US troops died in the war. In the US, there were many protests against the war. Troops who returned from their tours of duty often faced great ridicule. Today, in the US, there are questions about the proper treatment of US veterans in VA hospitals. Many of those who have not received proper VA treatment are those whose ages place them in the Vietnam War era. They may have been stationed in Vietnam, or in other adjoining areas of Southeast Asia, such as Thailand. The time was during that of the Cold War with Russia. Other US troops were stationed at bases throughout the world. Many people had loved ones who died in the Vietnam War. In the 1960s the life insurance death benefit for service members was $10,000. Basic pay in 1968 for pay grade E-1 was $96.00 a month. Of course, the barracks was free, as was the food. Wow! Such a deal! Because of the many duty stations that I had during that time frame, it seemed that my job was actually “moving.” I wasn’t stationed in Vietnam, but in Thailand and in The Republic of the Philippines. Please remember to thank a military veteran for their service to our country, regardless of their time of service. Don’t forget about those who are serving now, whether it is active duty, guard, or reserve. The video that follows has music that is played. It is not Christian music, but it may tell a story of the war in Vietnam. Maybe there are some stories that need to be shared. Please consider the following Bible verse.

King James Bible, John 15:13

Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.

Philippians 3:10, “That I may know Him…”

Editor’s note: The original video was removed; I apologize. The replacement video did not carry the spirit of the one tha that was replaced. Robin Williams played a wonderful role of a military disc jockey who attempted to improve morale in the lives of our forces who were stationed in and around Vietnam. May we never forget the great sacrifices of the members of the U.S. Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines and Coast Guard who served their nation well in that war that caused so many lives to be taken from us. May we also remember the forces of the allied nations who served their nations in the Southeast Asia Theatre. I trust that the song that I have added to this post will interject reality into the discussions that have taken place about the Vietnam War.

4 thoughts on “051614, The Vietnam War, John 15:13

  1. Thank you so much for keeping this time in history, alive. I’m a Viet Nam Era Veteran, and served in Germany from 62 to 65. I was prepared to go wherever, as I was ready to defend my country, at all costs. My final discharge, 1967. Wore my uniform once, and the angry looks I got forced me to put it away for good. The cowards who fled to Canada, and those who knew nothing about us, were able to express their contemptuous verbal tirades, because a patriot served in order to preserve those rights. Great post. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for you kind words and for your story. I understand everything that you said. I remember the saying that was very true, “The Needs Of The Air Force.” I went where the need was found for me to be. There have been peope of our era who were criticized for not going to Vietnam. There was no way that all of the armed forces could have been assigned to Vietnam, neither was there such a need. I remember that Scott Air Force Base in Illinois supported the war effort, as did other state-side bases. Guam was important to the war effort, as were other duty sites around the world. When I returned from the Philippines, I felt uneasy about driving across our nation with military base stickers on my car. It was an unsafe feeling that I had. The need for our presence in Germany, when you were there, was very real. The Berlin wall didn’t come down for another twenty some odd years. The Soviet threat was real there, just as it was in Southeast Asia. I salute you for your service to our country. You might check out some more of my posts on patriotism. I believe that there were a few more that begin with 05. There is also one about the Marine Corps in World War II, “From The Shores Of Tripoli.” Please keep in touch, and many blessings to you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

