CC 041714, Wednesday Of Passion Week, The Plot To Kill Jesus, Luke 22:1-6

At this time in the study of The Passion Week/Holy Week, a moment of humor, and bite of Humble Pie is needed. First, the humor, if it turns out to be that way. There was a joke that was common when I was “a few years younger.” It goes like this. Why does the traffic light turn red? The answer was, “you’d turn red too, if you’d have to change in front of so many people!” Well, I have found such a “red face” on me, like I never had ever thought would happen. So, I’ll “fess up.” This year, 2014, had the first day of Passover beginning on Monday at Sundown, April 14. The posts that I have been making relate to the Passion Week/Holy Week of 33 A.D. So, because of the error of 1981 years, I have put the beginnings of Passover and Unleavened Bread earlier in the week’s account. Since all of my readers are much smarter than “yours truly,” I will either receive a ton of forgiveness, or many slices of Humble Pie. So, now that I have seen the red “all over my face, ” I admit my error, and really do ask “the whole blog world” to forgive me. As for the Humble Pie, I would much rather have “Red Velvet Cake.”

(Sources that are being consulted, are: The Ryrie Study Bible, The Holman Christian Standard Bible, The MacArthur Study Bible, The Reformation Study Bible, The Complete Jewish Bible, The Scofield Study Bible, The Thompson Chain Reference Bible, The New American Commentary Series, The Holman Commentary Series, and internet sources, BibleGateway.com, and BibleHub.com.

Luke 22:1-6

Revised Standard Version (RSV)

The Plot to Kill Jesus

22 Now the feast of Unleavened Bread drew near, which is called the Passover. 2 And the chief priests and the scribes were seeking how to put him to death; for they feared the people.

3 Then Satan entered into Judas called Iscariot, who was of the number of the twelve; 4 he went away and conferred with the chief priests and officers how he might betray him to them. 5 And they were glad, and engaged to give him money. 6 So he agreed, and sought an opportunity to betray him to them in the absence of the multitude.

Consider the unholy alliance of Satan, The Chief Priests, and Judas.

Consider the hypocrisy of those who claimed not to be, “of Satan.” Judas, a disciple of Christ. The Chief Priests, who should have known that Jesus was the Messiah, and should have pointed the common Jew to that proper belief.

Now, let’s go to our Lord and Savior in praise to Him.

Let God Arise

John 10:27-28

Revised Standard Version (RSV)

27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me; 28 and I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish, and no one shall snatch them out of my hand.

Leave a Reply

